Do you Know How to RECIEVE?

Foreigners will rebuild your walls, and their kings will serve you. (Isaiah 60:10).
Misfortune pursues the sinner, but prosperity is the reward of the righteous. A good man leaves an inheritance for his children’s children, but a sinner’s wealth is stored up for the righteous. (Proverbs 13;21,22).
The children of Israel carried out Moses’ order and had the Egyptians give them objects of silver and gold and clothes. (Exodus 12;35)

This morning I went up town, I met my millionaire friend there. He has told me, on several occasions that he would never read the bible or attend church, however this morning he said to me ‘Let’s go to the store,’ When we got there, he insisted on getting me some groceries, this caught me off guard and I hesitated to put anything in the basket but the more I hesitated them more he got at me, ‘Get anything you want’ he said.

After a few minuites of me hesitating not knowing how to really handle this situation, he said again, come on get what you like ‘You’re too religious, that’s your trouble.’
‘Wow that stunned me and made me think, He’s right I told myself. It made me think, yes I know how to give but am not so good on receiving…..’He’s right!

It made me think, God is using him to bless me. This is not a believer that is blessing me but a man who has declared to me that he will never go to church or read the word. His father was a millionaire too and went to his local church, my friend however had no time for church or the Lord. In my conversations with him over the years, I have seen the goodness in him, and tried to encourage him in the things of the Lord. But he’s tough, I’ve told him what I truly though and have always sought to be transparent and honest with him. On one occasion I had to outrightly tell him that i had discovered what the Lord truly meant when he said that ‘it is easier for a camel to go through through the eye of a needle than a rich man to enter heaven.’ tough words yes but I care deeply for his soul! Sometimes he frustrates me but, theres a kind heart in him somewhere.

GOD USES PEOPLE TO BLESS US. Nether money or groceries comes down from the heavens above. Money comes from people so does groceries, scripture declares, ‘give, and it shall be given unto you; good measure, pressed down, and shaken together, and running over, shall MEN give into your bosom. For with the same measure that ye mete withal it shall be measured to you again.’ Luke 6:38. So if MEN ‘other people’ are going to bless us then we better be open to folks all types of folks coming our way and helping us out in life. These same folks are going to be used by the Lord, knowingly or unknowingly so we better get sensitive to trusting God in all sorts of situations and circumstances. May be it wont be church folks may be it will be some rich folks, some millionaire. Are you open to it?

If the Egyptians can give God’s people silver and God then God can equally bless us as believers with more than we need and more than what we ask God for too. Further, the unbelievers don’t care about what car you drive or Jet you fly. oftentimes we are more concerned with what other believers think of our flashy car or Jet when the unbelievers think nothing of it. Maybe we should stop thinking like sorry Christian loosers and start thinking like successful millionaires. Often the folks who supply the mega preachers with jets and property are more in tune with God’s plan than the criticising believers who want to keep you broke and humble (sorry humiliated) all the time. Selah!

The LORD will send a blessing on your barns and on everything you put your hand to. The LORD your God will bless you in the land he is giving you Deuteronomy 28:7-9 English Standard Version 2016 (ESV) yes people giver but what they give is a blessing form the Lord! Note too that in this verse, God is giving you land. What a promise! Do you believe it can you receive it. God will give to you what money cannot get you. ‘when you have LESS than… God can give MORE than

Because you did not serve the LORD your God joyfully and gladly in the time of prosperity (V47). Don’t tell me bring broke works, it don’t! God declares here in Deuteronomy you have a choice blessings or curses. you choose, and if you don’t agree with the blessings then expect the curses, because its not the prosperity teaching that your disagreeing with but God himself…..’Because you did not serve the LORD your God joyfully and gladly in the time of prosperity,’ (V47)… All these curses will come upon you. They will pursue you and overtake you until you are destroyed, because you did not obey the LORD your God and observe the commands and decrees he gave you…… (v45) because you did not agree with the Lord or accept his word and his promised blessings for your life..(v47)

You just cant serve the Lord joyfully and disagree on his promised blessings in your life! Agree with the Lord, expect his blessings from unusuaL sources

God bless my friend

Paul

Leave a comment